HRET logo, click here to go to the site home page

Transforming health care
through research and education

Hospitals in the Pursuit of Excellence logo, click here to go to the HPOE home page
Skip main navigation

HRET Mission

Transforming health care through research and education.

HRET Vision

Leveraging research and education to create a society of healthy communities, where all individuals reach their highest potential for health.

Bucket/Section Image


Diane E. Meier

Diane E. Meier, MD, FACP

Director, Center to Advance Palliative Care

2017 TRUST Award Recipient

“Diane has demonstrated extraordinary vision and made many contributions to the health care field through her innovations in age-friendly, person-centered care approaches, specifically on palliative care delivery models,” said David P. Tilton, chair of the HRET board of trustees. “Her leadership at the Center to Advance Palliative Care has helped triple the number of palliative care programs in U.S. hospitals, improving quality of care and quality of life for seriously ill patients.” David Tilton

“Diane’s leadership in the field of palliative care has been transformative,” said Jay Bhatt, D.O., president of HRET and chief medical officer of the AHA. “A pioneer and innovator in the field, she has led through clinical practice, scholarship and teaching to expand and integrate high-value palliative care in health care delivery.” Jay Bhatt



About the TRUST Award

Established in 2003, the TRUST Award honors individuals who have exhibited visionary leadership in the health care field and who symbolize HRET's mission of leveraging research and education to make a dramatic impact in policy and practice.

Join us in honoring Dr. Meier at an evening reception on July 27 in San Diego by becoming a TRUST Award sponsor.

Previous TRUST Award Recipients


2016 - Linda Burnes Bolton, Dr.P.H., RN, F.A.A.N 2009 - David Satcher
2015 - Stephen M. Shortell, PhD, MPH, MBA 2008 - Robert H. Brook
2014 - Nancy Schlichting 2007 - Janet M. Corrigan
2013 - Karen Davis 2006 - Gail L. Warden
2012 - Maureen Bisognano 2005 - Brent C. James
2011 - Atul Gawande, MD, MPH 2004 - Donald M. Berwick
2010 - Glenn D. Steele Jr. 2003 -David M. Lawrence

Terms of Use  | Privacy Policy

©2006-2017 by the American Hospital Association. All rights reserved. Noncommercial use of original content on is granted to AHA Institutional Members, their employees and State, Regional and Metro Hospital Associations unless otherwise indicated. AHA does not claim ownership of any content, including content incorporated by permission into AHA produced materials, created by any third party and cannot grant permission to use, distribute or otherwise reproduce such third party content. To request permission to reproduce AHA content, please click here.